ASRA - Australian Skateboard Racing Association

Jackson Shapiera edged out Dennis Westphal in a thrilling final to become downhill skateboarding's Master of the Hill. Dave Kelly took out the Luge, while in Classic Luge Adam Sparks had to come from behind to overtake Brad Sterritt.

The skateboarding final was a classic. Jackson and Dennis raced the entire course side-by-side, neither able to pull in front of the other. The racer with the inside line on the corner would pull marginally ahead, only to lose the advantage on the next corner. They crossed the finish line side-by-side and nobody could pick the winner until the slow-mo video replay showed Jackson in front by centimetres.

That wasn't the first race to be decided by the video replay, and there was close racing on all parts of the track. The lugers in particular had a lot of elbow-to-elbow racing.

Skateboard Results (Click here to see the draw)
1. Jackson Shapiera
2. Dennis Westphal
3. Austin Moncrieff
4. Corey Leeson
5. Leigh Griffiths
5. Adam Yates
7. Steve Daddow
7. Owen Davies
9. Ashley Donaldson
9. Pete Hill
9. Jonatan Lundmark
9. Brad Pearson
13. Gareth Fitzgerald
13. John Fox
13. Ben Hay
13. Mic White
17. Michael Bowditch
17. Dani Hawes
17. Bobby Godfrey
17. Scott Guthrie
17. Dave Kelly
17. Rob McWhinnie
17. Craig Morton
17. Jason Wright
25. Ricky
25. Paul Carey
25. Dan Hobbs
25. Nathan Paff
25. Lea Robertson
25. Rich Stenning
25. Brad Sterritt

Luge Results (Click here to see the draw)
1. Dave Kelly
2. Ricky
3. Pat Brennan
4. Phil Champion
5. Tim Gregory
5. Craig Mears
7. Simon Godfrey

Classic Luge Results (Click here to see the draw)
1. Adam Sparks
2. Brad Sterritt
3. Hayden Tyrell
4. Nick McGurdie
5. Katie Champion

The Final of the Skateboarding (shot by Hop)

Photos from Psyman

To see the photos individually, click here.

Photos from John Fox and John the Pom

To see the photos individually, click here.


* A massive amount of credit goes to Dave Robertson who was the driving force behind this event. He spent an unbelievable amount of time planning and preparing for it, and the fact that the event ran so smoothly is due to his efforts.
* Haggy Strom and Hayley for running the start-line with great efficiency. You guys worked hard all day and all you ever saw of the racing was the racers disappearing out of view.
* Gareth Fitzgerald for taking over finish line duties from Dave Robertson for the second half of the race, and for creating the ASRA toilet - just sit on it and go!
* John Fox for helping out in lots of little ways.
* Jess Arroyo for being my 2IC on the day (and Lea Robertson for replacing her late in the day).
* Scott Guthrie and Mountain Mick (and Dave Kelly) for helping to set up the hay bales and haul gear around.
* Ben Hay and Paul Carey for returning the hay bales - you guys really saved the day!
* Everybody else I've forgotten - the day was a bit of a blur really.
* Sponsors: Hopkin Racing, Cr8ive Sk8, High Roller, and FSU for donating boards to help Mountain Mick.

Get well Mountain Mick!

Views: 631

Tags: Master of the Hill, classic luge, downhill, luge, moth

Premium Member
Comment by Dani on January 18, 2009 at 20:49
My name should be above Bows in the 17th bracket

ASRA Admin
Comment by Bugs on January 18, 2009 at 20:58
I used alphabetical order to list the equal-placed riders. You'll have to sort it out on the streets of Adelaide.

Premium Member
Comment by Dani on January 18, 2009 at 20:59
O believe me, we will. Cheers for the weekend Bugs. Had a blast
Comment by John Fox Williamson on January 18, 2009 at 21:30
tied with Fitzy, Ben Hay and Mic White. They couldn't be with better class talent !

Premium Member
Comment by Mic W on January 18, 2009 at 21:47
The way you were shredding the mountain Fox Im honoured to be tied with you...great day...great mates..
Comment by Eddie Spearing on January 19, 2009 at 6:25
Whats up with Mtn Mick?

Premium Member
Comment by nathan on January 19, 2009 at 6:52
Eddie, mountain mick was involved in a sickening accident on the Friday during setup and is hospitalised...more info and ways to help a brother out will flow on this site soon.

ASRA Admin
Comment by Bugs on January 19, 2009 at 13:45
If you want to see the results for each individual race on the day, check out the draws:

* Skateboard
* Luge
* Classic Luge
Comment by Jess Arroyo on January 20, 2009 at 21:41
Thanks everyone for coming and supporting this event! What a freaken fab day!!!! Looking forward to seeing you all at Newton's for some more skating shenanigans XXOXO
Comment by Eddie Spearing on January 21, 2009 at 20:42
did you devise that devious double eliminator sheet Bugs? Its bloody good !!

Add a Comment

You need to be a member of ASRA - Australian Skateboard Racing Association to add comments!

Join ASRA - Australian Skateboard Racing Association


© 2020   Created by Bugs.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service